Jungle

A Harrowing True Story of Adventure, Danger and Survival

  • Imprint: Summersdale
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 320
  • Price: £9.99
  • Publication date: 14 July 2016
  • ISBN: 9781849538824

About the book

I heard the rustle again, too close and too real to ignore.  I clutched the flashlight, stuck my head out of the mosquito net… and found myself face-to-face with a jaguar.

Four travelers meet in Bolivia and set off into the heart of the Amazon rainforest to find a hidden tribe and explore places tourists only dream of seeing.  But what begins as the adventure of a lifetime quickly deteriorates into a dangerous nightmare. 

After weeks of wandering in the dense undergrowth the group splits up after disagreements, and Yossi and his friend try to find their own way back without a guide. When a terrible rafting accident separates him from his partner, Yossi is forced to survive for weeks alone against one of the wildest backdrops on the planet. Stranded without a knife, map, or survival training, he must improvise shelter and forage for wild fruit to survive. As his feet begin to rot during raging storms, as he loses all sense of direction, and as he begins to lose all hope, he wonders whether he will make it out of the jungle alive. 

The basis of an upcoming motion picture starring Daniel Radcliffe, “Jungle” is the incredible story of friendship and the teachings of nature, survival and human fortitude and a terrifying true account that you won’t be able to put down.

About the author

Since surviving his incredible ordeal, Yossi Ghinsberg has become a public speaker much in demand – he has been on the Discovery Channel and Larry King Live – and travels around the world giving motivational talks. Yossi lives in Israel, Australia and the USA.  For more information, see www.ghinsberg.com.

His clients include Toshiba, AXA, Hilton, Fujitsu, Philips and Pfizer to name but a few.


Reviews

‘Simply breathtaking. Yossi’s story of survival haunted me for weeks’

Bryce Courtenay, author of The Power of One

‘A thrilling book… One man’s amazing adventure’

The Washington Post

‘One of those amazing survival stories that almost brings you [to] a cold sweat just from reading it. Once you start you won’t put it down’

The Mercury

‘A true life adventure book of survival in the Amazonian jungle.’

Publishing News

‘To this day, the story is just as thrilling and still has an important lesson about inner strength… Motivating and inspirational – it is hard to put down!’

Bucks Herald Magazine

‘an unnerving memoir of an adventure in Bolivia that quickly turned into a tragic struggle for survival’

ABTA Magazine

‘the story is frightening, tense and breathtakingly exciting.’

The BH Magazine

‘... so captivating... As Ghinsberg introduces us to the colourful life of mochileros (backpackers) in South America, the journal-style writing captures a raw perspective of this ever-popular continent Better still,...

Real Travel magazine: My Favourite Book column

'A classic real-life adventure story'

The Good Book Guide

'Nail-biting stuff, ideal for fans of The Beach'

The Bookseller