We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Search Results for: travel writing

Showing 46-54 of 129 results for travel writing

Flying, No Fear!

Flying, No Fear!

Contributors

Adrian Akers-Douglas, George Georgiou

Price and format

Price
£4.99
Format
ebook
Written by an airline pilot and a clinical psychologist, this combination of practical explanation and self-help techniques is the definitive guide to help anyone overcome their fear of flying.
Sometimes unnecessary anxiety is caused by events which airline crews may take for granted, including aspects of flights that are mystifying and even alarming to less frequent flyers. This new edition incorporates the recent advances in technology within the aviation industry, as well as the increased security checks as a result of 9/11.
The Hotel on the Roof of the World

The Hotel on the Roof of the World

Contributors

Alec Le Sueur

Price and format

Price
£6.68
Format
ebook
The very aptly named Mr Pong had the kind of breath that could stun at over ten meters… This wasn’t just bad – there was something rotten down there. Something had crawled in and died. Gunter howled with laughter as he saw the look of horror on my face. It was the best entertainment he had seen since he had watched Chef chasing yaks through the kitchens.

Few foreigners are lucky enough to set foot on Tibetan soil, but Alec Le Sueur spent five extraordinary years there, working in the unlikeliest Holiday Inn in the world. Against the breathtaking beauty of the Himalayas unfolds a highly amusing and enlightening account of his experiences.

Fly infestations at state banquets, unexpected deliveries of live snakes, a predominance of yaks and everything yak-related, the unbelievable Miss Tibet competition, insurmountable communication problems and a dead guest are just some of the entertainments to be found at the ‘Fawlty Towers’ of Lhasa.

Le Sueur, the only Westerner since the days of Heinrich Harrer to spend so long in Tibet, examines the country’s intriguing cultural background, providing a fascinating insight into a country that was only just opening up to the outside world.


This is Me!

This is Me!

Contributors

Summersdale Publishers

Price and format

Price
£10.99
Format
Paperback
A fun and empowering interactive journal for girls aged 9-12

It’s time to discover and celebrate what makes you uniquely YOU!

Welcome to the time in your life when lots of big, exciting stuff happens! This companion is here to guide you along the way. It’s full of fabulous fill-in activities, quizzes to do with friends, tips for sleepover parties, and advice on how to create your dream bedroom sanctuary. Helping you plan and prepare for big days, like starting a new school or taking an exam, and offering some great ideas when you need a happiness boost, this book covers the essentials and so much more!

This Is Me is for you and you alone, so dive in and get started. Pick up a pen and make this journal as awesome and colourful as you are!
– Write a letter to your future self – what would you say?
– Make a family tree and learn more about your living relatives – what questions would you ask?
– How well do you and your best friend really know each other? Take the quiz to find out!
Lunch in Paris

Lunch in Paris

Contributors

Elizabeth Bard

Price and format

Price
£6.99
Format
ebook
Has a meal ever changed your life? Part love story, part wine-splattered cookbook, Lunch in Paris is a deliciously tart, forthright and funny story of falling in love with a Frenchman and moving to the world’s most romantic city – not the Hollywood version, but the real Paris, a heady mix of blood sausage, pains aux chocolats and irregular verbs. From gutting her first fish (with a little help from Jane Austen) to discovering the French version of Death by Chocolate, Elizabeth Bard finds that learning to cook and building a new life have a lot in common. Peppered with recipes, this mouth-watering love story is the perfect treat for anyone who has ever suspected that lunch in Paris could change their life.
Live Fast, Die Young

Live Fast, Die Young

Contributors

Chris Price, Joe Harland

Price and format

Price
£6.99
Format
ebook
Disappointed to learn that Hotel California isn’t actually in the phone book, radio producers Chris and Joe resolve to seek out the true spirit of rock and roll America. Roof down and stereo up, they drive coast to coast on a mission to ‘live the music’. They will sell their souls to the devil on the same crossroads as Robert Johnson, taste the loneliness of the ‘Wichita Lineman’ (and the fried peanut butter sandwich that finished off The King), hang out with the spirit of Johnny Cash in his own front room and, sitting on a jetty by an alligator-infested lake, sing ‘Happy Birthday’ to country-rock musician Gram Parsons. But first they must learn the ukulele, grow preposterous facial hair and fail to get into the Chateau Marmont with a rising popstar – and that’s just day one.

It’s a tale of friendship tested to the limit, great melodies, perfect lyrics and noble myths.
Enchanted Islands

Enchanted Islands

Contributors

Laura Coffey

Price and format

Price
£16.99
Format
Hardcover
Other Formats
Other formats available
A magical and hugely captivating journey – filled with such beauty, wonder and surprise. A simply marvellous read, hugely recommended – Stephen Fry

A real-life journey through the fantastical world of The Odyssey

It started with a boy, of course. Seeking solace from the pain of heartbreak and her father’s illness, Laura Coffey embarks on what was meant to be a simple holiday. But her newfound fascination with ancient Greek myths transforms her trip into a six-month odyssey, around tiny archipelagos and mystical Mediterranean islands thought to be the setting of Odysseus’s epic journey. As she chases one of the most conflicted, flawed and yet beloved heroes through his fantastical sea-kingdoms, looking for the places where geography and mythology collide, she discovers the wild beauty of the islands, and the redemptive powers of travel and nature, cold-water swimming, long hikes up mountains, and luminous star-lit skies.

But her quest to find happiness, safety and the true meaning of home is overshadowed by the deepening illness of her father. Returning as he’s dying, forced to confront the very things she was running from, Laura reflects on what she has lost, how to live between story and reality, and the way we craft our own mythologies. Slipping between the mythical realm and the real world, she finds enchantment and healing in the magic of both.

“If you love memoir and Greek mythology, this is a delight. A spellbinding book about growing up, grieving and the gods.” – Clare Pollard, author of Delphi
Moderate Becoming Good Later

Moderate Becoming Good Later

Contributors

Toby Carr, Katie Carr

Price and format

Price
£10.99
Format
Paperback
An exhilarating and deeply moving story of one man’s attempt to sea kayak the areas of the Shipping Forecast, perfect for fans of The Salt Path and Attention All Shipping

Foreword by Charlie Connelly, author of Attention All Shipping

The Shipping Forecast has been described as the UK’s national lullaby: a source of dependability and calm in our often chaotic world, it has charmed millions of listeners and aided generations of seafarers across the decades. No stranger to weathering a storm after living with a rare life-limiting condition and facing the death of his brother, avid kayaker Toby Carr set out to explore the areas of the Forecast.

On a journey that took him to the harshest and most tranquil stretches of our sea, Toby found the real people, places and stories behind the familiar names and imagined environments of the well-loved BBC broadcast. From the wildness and peace of the sea, looking back at the land, Toby hoped to gain the strength and balance he knew nature could provide and to discover what anchors us to each other.

Written by Toby’s sister Katie from his extensive notes and recordings after his untimely death, Moderate Becoming Good Later is both an epic adventure – sometimes choppy, constantly moving – and a personal voyage of discovery that includes old friends and new, plenty of wildlife, and the ever-present sea.
Vive le Chaos

Vive le Chaos

Contributors

Ian Moore

Price and format

Price
£9.99
Format
Paperback
Other Formats
Other formats available
Follow the hilarious misadventures of Ian Moore and his family as their search for serenity in rural France leads them on a journey of chaos, commotion and comedy

Comedian, mod and professional grump Ian Moore has had enough. Tired of being unable to park anywhere near his cramped house in a noisy town he doesn’t like, he hatches a plan to move his wife and young son to a remote corner of the Loire Valley in search of serenity and space.

Several years later, Ian finds himself up to his neck in bilingual offspring, feral cats, promiscuous horses, dysfunctional spaniels and needy hens; he’s wrestling with electric fences, a foreign language, a mountain of animal waste and a wife who collects livestock like there’s a biblical flood on the horizon, all while trying not to dirty his pristine loafers.

But despite the ups, downs and increasing demands of Ian’s showbiz career, the Moore family persevere in true Brit style to create a unique, colourful and ultimately rewarding life in their new home – à la campagne!
A Chateau of One's Own

A Chateau of One's Own

Contributors

Sam Juneau

Price and format

Price
£4.99
Format
ebook
Sam and Bud were ordinary first-time homebuyers in their early thirties. Their intention, in moving to France, was to create a simple life in a place where they could spend time with their children. The home they actually bought was a 17th century chateau in the Loire valley with over thirty rooms.

Chateau Du Bonchamps had been the seat of noble families as far back as 1507. With only modest savings, Sam and Bud launched the exciting project of restoring this extraordinary building to its former glory. Over several years they renovated 10,000 square feet of house, installed countless bathrooms, painted 156 windows, put the 40-acre park and gardens into some semblance of order and started a bed and breakfast against resistance from the locals. Their hard work prevailed; their chateau quadrupled in value.

The things we dream do not always fit nicely with the realities of everyday life. This is an insightful glimpse of what it truly means to leave everything behind to pursue a dream.
Filter (0) +